Skip links

Board of Directors

Cooper Metal’s has a highly motivated and experienced team with a record of accomplishment in corporate finance, exploration, discovery, and mine development.

Michael Frayne


Michael is a qualified accountant and geologist with 30 years’ experience in the resource and finance sectors.

He has provided corporate management and advice to numerous resource, commodity and energy companies, the majority of which have been listed on AIM and the Australian Stock Exchange, with projects in Australia, Africa, Asia, North and South America.

Michael was founder of Capital Metals in 2015, which was incorporated for the purpose of exploring, assessing and developing the Eastern Minerals Project in Sri Lanka.

Ian Warland

Managing Director

A highly experienced and successful geologist with 25 years’ experience in Australia and internationally over a wide range of commodities. Notably, a career highlight, was being joint recipient for “Explorer of the Year” in 2006 for the discovery of the Jacinth and Ambrosia zircon-rich mineral sand deposits.

Ian holds a Bachelor of Applied Science Geology with First Class Honours and university medal from the University of Technology Sydney.  He also has a Graduate Diploma of Applied Finance and Investment and an Associate Diploma in Environmental Control.

In the last ten years Ian has worked primarily in the junior exploration sector as a geological consultant and in senior management positions for Musgrave Minerals and Marmota.  After leading Twenty Seven Co Ltd as their CEO for the last three years, Ian is now Managing Director of Cooper Metals.

Tim Armstrong

Non-Executive Director

Tim brings 8 years of experience in the finance sector with extensive networks in the equity markets in Australia and abroad.

Currently Institutional sales at Prenzler Group, a Sydney based boutique advisory firm. Tim has advised on a number of successful ASX IPO, RTO, and project acquisitions, specialising in sub $100m Market cap range.  Tim is also a former professional cricketer that has represented NSW, WA and Australia.